(Expected )New Moons and Appointed Times for 2001

Listed below are the computations for 2001 for the expected dates of New Moon visibility from Jerusalem and the appointed times of the Scriptural calendar thereby, as well as the moladim of the Calculated Rabbinical Calendar (CRC) and its proclaimed holy days. The difference between the dates for the two calendars is also noted. It appears that we will have no dates exactly in common with the CRC-observant CoGs for the Holy Days this year.

The "Visible Crescents" column dates are the dates on which the New Moon is expected to be seen--beginning at sunset of the listed day. All dates listed are to be reckoned from sunset of listed day and date through the next day at sunset. For example, the Scriptural Passover is to be observed from sunset of Sunday, April 8 through sunset of Monday April 9, 2001.

Visibility dates marked with an asterisk* are dates on which observation will be difficult, but visibility may be possible given good weather conditions. Visibility is certain for all the other dates listed, lest there be inclement weather.

Event
Visible Crescents
CRC Molad
Difference
11th New Moon (illumination 1.1% - 49 minute lagtime)
Thursday, January 25
Wednesday, January 24
1 day
12th New Moon (illumination 1.73% - 63 minute lagtime)
Saturday, February 24
Friday, February 23
1 day
1st New Moon (illumination 2.81% - 81 minute lagtime)
Monday, March 26
Saturday, March 24
2 days
Passover (RE: begins sunset of listed day)
Sunday, April 8
Friday, April 6
2 days
Feast of Unleavens (RE: begins sunset of listed day)
Monday, April 9 - Sunday,April 15
Saturday, April 7 - Friday, April 13
2 days
2nd New Moon (illumination 1.33% - 52 minute lagtime)
Tuesday, April 24
Monday, April 23
1 day
3rd New Moon (illumination 3.18% - 90 minute lagtime)
Thursday, May 24
Wednesday, May 23
1 day
Feast of Firstfruits / Pentecost (RE: begins sunset of listed day)
Saturday, June 2
Saturday, May 26
1 week
4th New Moon (illumination 2.04% - 68 minute lagtime)
Friday, June 22
Thursday, June 21
1 day
5th New Moon (illumination 1.22% - 50 minute lagtime)
Saturday, July 21
Friday, July 20
1 day
6th New Moon (illumination 3.91% - 78 minute lagtime)
Monday, August 20
Sunday, August 19
1 day
7th New Moon (illumination 2.42% - 62 min. lagtime) -- Yom Teruah (Day of Trumpets)
Tuesday, September 18
Monday, September17
1 day
Yom Kippur / Day of Atonement (RE: begins sunset of listed day)
Thursday, September 27
Wednesday, September 26
1 day
Feast of Tabernacles (RE: begins sunset of listed day)
Tuesday, October 2 - Monday, October 8
Monday, October 1- Sunday, October7
1 day
Last Great Day (RE: begins sunset of listed day)
Tuesday, October 9
Monday, October 8
1 day
8th New Moon (illumination 1.07% - 44 minute lagtime)
Wednesday, October 17*
Wednesday, October 17
same (w/* - 1 day)
9th New Moon (illumination 2.19% - 63 minute lagtime)
Friday, November 16
Thursday, November 15
1 day
10th New Moon (illumination 3.25% - 86 minute lagtime)
Sunday, December 16
Saturday, December 15th
1 day
2001 Appointed Times

2001

Passover

Feast of Unleavens

Pentecost

Day of Shouting (aka "Trumpets")

Day of Atonement

Feast of Tabernacles

8th Day (aka "Last Great Day")

starts sunset of

Sunday, April 8

Monday, April 9 - Sunday, April 15

Saturday, June 2

Tuesday, September 18

Thursday, September 27

Tuesday, October 2 - Monday, October 8

Tuesday, October 9

through sunset of

Monday, April 9

Tuesday, April 10 - Monday, April 16

Sunday, June 3

Wednesday, September 19

Friday, September 28

Wednesday, October 3 - Tuesday, October 9

Wednesday, October 10

Please note that the CRC dates given for Passover and Pentecost are according to the calendar of most CRC-observant "Church of God" groups (i.e., Nisan 14 and the "morrow after the [weekly] Sabbath," and are not according to the actual rabbinical calendar proclamations of Nisan 15 and Sivan 6, respectively, which some CoGs may hold to)

* molad - The CRC, contrary to what some may think, is not based on first visibilty of the moon after conjunction--it is based on the "molad." The Hebrew word means "birth," but the term in rabbinical calculated calendar usage refers to the average conjunction of the earth, moon, and sun (average length being 29.53059 days). The molad may occur on the actual astronomical new moon, but the two terms are not interchangable. The molad may also occur upon the first day of crescent visibility, or yet within a few days on either side of it (as evidenced in the chart above).

Author: Brian Hoeck

©2001 Truth On The Web Ministries: All the articles originated by Kenneth Hoeck and/or Brian Hoeck may be freely distributed or mirrored as long as presented in their entirety (including this statement), attributed to Truth on The Web, and proper author credit given.

See also Projected Appointed Times for 2001-2010

Back to CALENDAR CHRONICLES

*LIBRARY * HOME *

truthontheweb.org