(Expected)New Moons and Appointed Times for 2003

Listed below are the computations for 2003 for the expected dates of New Moon visibility from Jerusalem, as well as the moladim (i.e., average timing of dark moons) of the Calculated Rabbinical Calendar (CRC). The difference between the dates for the two calendars is also noted.

The projected dates for the Eternal's Appointed Times for 2003 are given in the tables below the New Moon listings. Once again, we will have no dates exactly in common with the CRC-observant CoGs for the Holy Days this year.

The "Visible Crescents" column dates are the dates on which the New Moon is expected to be seen--beginning at sunset of the listed day. All dates listed are to be reckoned from sunset of listed day and date through the next day at sunset in the following New Moon table.

2003 New Moons

Event

Illumination and Lagtime

Visible Crescents

Visibility

CRC Molad

Difference

1st New Moon

3.15 % 92 min.

Thursday, April 3

Yes

Wed., April 2

1 day

2nd New Moon

1.22 % 57 min.

Friday, May 2

Probable

Friday, May 2

same day

3rd New Moon

2.18 % 82 min.

Sunday, June 1

Yes

Saturday, May 31

1 day

4th New Moon

0.99 % 54 min.

Monday, June 30

Borderline

Monday, June 30

same day

5th New Moon

2.47 % 71 min.

Wed., July 30

Yes

Tuesday, July 29

1 day

6th New Moon

1.31 % 48 min.

Thursday, Aug. 28

Probable

Thursday, Aug. 28

same day

7th New Moon

3.29 % 62 min.

Saturday, Sept. 27

Yes

Friday, Sept. 26

1 day

8th New Moon

1.78 % 44 min.

Sunday, Oct. 26

Probable

Sunday, Oct. 26

same day

9th New Moon

4.19 % 80 min.

Tuesday, Nov. 25

Yes

Tuesday, Nov. 25

same day

10th New Moon

2.30 % 63 min.

Wed., Dec. 24

Yes

Thursday, Dec. 25

1 day

11th New Moon

4.27 % 125 min.

Friday, January 23

Yes

Friday, January 23

same day

12th New Moon

2.05 % 69 min.

Saturday, February 21

Yes

Sunday, February 22

1 day

2003 Appointed Times

Event

begins sunset of

ends sunset of

New Year's Day

Thursday, April 3

Friday, April 4

Passover

Wednesday, April 16

Thursday, April 17

Feast of Unleavens (1st day)

Thursday, April 17

Friday, April 18

Elevation Sheaf Day (aka "wavesheaf")

Saturday, April 19

Sunday, April 20

Feast of Unleavens (7th day)

Wednesday, April 23

Thursday, April 24

Pentecost

Saturday, June 7

Sunday, June 8

Day of Shouting (aka "Trumpets")

Saturday, September 27

Sunday, Septemeber 28

Day of Atonement

Monday, October 6

Tuesday, October 7

Feast of Tabernacles (1st day)

Saturday, October 11

Sunday, October 12

8th Day Assembly

Saturday, October 18

Sunday, October 19

* abib - If you would like to receive an email report of the search for abib-stage barley, you can sign up at Karaite Korner Abib/New Moon Reports

* molad - The CRC, contrary to what some may think, is not based on first visibilty of the moon after conjunction--it is based on the "molad." The Hebrew word means "birth," but the term in rabbinical calculated calendar usage refers to the average conjunction of the earth, moon, and sun (average length being 29.53059 days). The molad may occur on the actual astronomical new moon, but the two terms are not interchangable. The molad may also occur upon the first day of crescent visibility, or yet within a few days on either side of it (as evidenced in the chart above).

Author: Brian Hoeck

©2003 Truth On The Web Ministries: All the articles originated by Kenneth Hoeck and/or Brian Hoeck may be freely distributed or mirrored as long as presented in their entirety (including this statement), attributed to Truth on The Web, and proper author credit given.

See also Projected Appointed Times for 2001-2010 Back to CALENDAR CHRONICLES

*LIBRARY HOME *

truthontheweb.org